Top 25 Social Influencers in Java

JAX London, 10-13 October 2016
The Conference for JAVA & Software Innovation

Following the overwhelming feedback received for the Top 20 Influencers in Finance Technology, the Jax London Conference team decided to do a similar analysis on influential people in Java. The Java influencer list was generated by analyzing thousands of Twitter accounts extracting the MozRank  and Klout scores which rank both quality and influence. 

The analysis ranks the top accounts according to their social influence, although interestingly enough, not all household names of Java evangelists are on the list.

Congratulations to all influencers who made it into our top 25. Click on each username to visit their Twitter accounts.

Martin Fowler @martinfowler

Programmer, Loud Mouth, ThoughtWorks

Total score: 163 = Klout score: 90 + Social Authority score: 73

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Andy Rubin @Arubin

Percent of all fresh water on Earth that is in icecaps and glaciers: 99.5 %

Total score: 145 = Klout score: 78 + Social Authority score: 67

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Arun Gupta @arungupta

Runner, Author, Father, Husband, Globe Trotter, Community Builder, Java Champion, JavaOne Rockstar, JUG Leader, Minecraft Modder, Devoxx4Kids-er, Couchbaser …

Total score: 130 = Klout score: 63 + Social Authority score: 67

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Simon Ritter @speakjava

Head of Java evangelism at Oracle Corporation. Spreading the world on all Java technologies, far and wide.

Total score: 129 = Klout score: 65 + Social Authority score: 64

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Jonas Boner @jboner

Founder & CTO of Typesafe

Total score: 129 = Klout score: 60 + Social Authority score: 69

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Jessica Kerr @jessitron

Functional developer, speaker, mother, crazy nut. Scala at . Learning and growing. All tweets are mine, licensed CC0.

Total score: 128 = Klout score: 62 + Social Authority score: 66

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Guillaume Laforge @glaforge

Restlet product lead and APIs dev advocate, Groovy programming language project lead

Total score: 127 = Klout score: 62 + Social Authority score: 65

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Joshua Bloch @joshbloch

Effective Java author, API Designer, Swell guy

Total score: 123 = Klout score: 57 + Social Authority score: 66

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Trisha Gee @trisha_gee

Coder/blogger/speaker, working for JetBrains. Human. More or less.

Total score: 121 = Klout score: 61 + Social Authority score: 60

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Josh Long @starbuxman

Spring Advocate ; ‘s my spirit animal; ;

Total score: 121 = Klout score: 60 + Social Authority score: 61

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Viktor Klang @viktorklang

Deputy CTO at Typesafe Inc. Life-long learner, programmer, father of twins, flyfisher and Islay single malt fan. My tweets are my own.

Total score: 120 = Klout score: 56 + Social Authority score: 64

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Jamie Allen @jamie_allen

Senior Director of Global Services for Typesafe. Noted Lambda hater. Author of Effective Akka (O’Reilly), co-author of Reactive Design Patterns (Manning)

Total score: 119 = Klout score: 54 + Social Authority score: 65

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

 

Sion @Sion_Smith

Entrepreneurial Geek! Java hacker with a passion for new technology, fintech and fitness. Currently building something awesome.

Total score: 119 = Klout score: 64 + Social Authority score: 55

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Tim Berglund @tlberglund

Director of Training for DataStax. I teach people how to Cassandra. Husband of one, father of three. Believer in Christ.

Total score: 115 = Klout score: 62 + Social Authority score: 53

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Martin Odersky @odersky

lead designer of Scala

Total score: 114 = Klout score: 55 + Social Authority score: 59

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Doug Cutting @cutting

Total score: 114 = Klout score: 60 + Social Authority score: 54

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Lukas Eder @lukaseder

Founder and CEO at , the company behind . My Tweets are full of sarcasm and satire. Be warned!

Total score: 113 = Klout score: 56 + Social Authority score: 57

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Mark Reinhold @mreinhold

Chief Architect, Java Platform Group, Oracle · Views are my own

Total score: 110 = Klout score: 53 + Social Authority score: 57

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Adrian Colyer @adriancolyer

Author: , Venture Partner with Accel Partners, London after many years as CTO for SpringSource and then apps at VMware, Pivotal

Total score: 110 = Klout score: 55 + Social Authority score: 55

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Geertjan Wielenga @GeertjanW

one of the Oracle product managers on the NetBeans Team

Total score: 109 = Klout score: 55 + Social Authority score: 54

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Rachel Davies @rachelcdavies

Works as Agile Coach at Unruly in London. Likes going for long walks.

Total score: 109 = Klout score: 54 + Social Authority score: 55

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Adam Bien @AdamBien

Freelancer: Author, JavaONE Rockstar Speaker, Consultant, Java Champion

Total score: 109 = Klout score: 53 + Social Authority score: 56

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Charles Nutter @headius

JRuby guy

Total score: 107 = Klout score: 50 + Social Authority score: 57

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

Peter Lawrey @PeterLawrey

Innovative developer of high performance Java systems for competitive advantage.

Total score: 103 = Klout score: 48 + Social Authority score: 55

Klout score
Moz score
Total score

JAX London Speakers

JAX London conference program