JAX London Blog

JAX London, 09-12 October 2017
The Conference for JAVA & Software Innovation
27
Jun

TOP 20 JAVA INFLUENCERS OF 2017

Top 20 Influencers in Java of 2017

Top 20 Influencers in Java of 2017

Who are the most influential Java people in the Twittersphere? After analyzing thousands of accounts, we created a list of people that every Java enthusiast or pro should be following.

All influential people have something in common: they can spread ideas faster and better than anyone else. We are aware that following these people has a handful of perks, including staying on top of the latest news and trends. Therefore, we decided to concoct a list of Twitter accounts all Java fans should follow. The analysis ranks the top accounts in accordance with their social influence, although interestingly enough, not all household names of Java evangelists are on the list. Nevertheless, we are very proud of the list that we came up with.

Congratulations to all influencers who made it into our Top 20 list. Click on each username to visit their Twitter accounts or the list on twitter. Below our detailed list, you find our Methodology and insights how we created the ranking.

1. Martin Fowler @martinfowler
Programmer, Loud Mouth, ThoughtWorker.

Klout score: 90
Moz score: 74
Total score: 164
2. Quentin Adam @waxce
CEO @clever_cloud

Klout score: 70
Moz score: 71
Total score: 140
3. Thorsten Heller @ThoHeller
Co-Founder &Über-Geek at @greenbirdIT

Klout score: 68
Moz score: 70
Total score: 138
4. Bruno Borges @brunoborges
Brazilian, Cloud Product Manager at Oracle

Klout score: 67
Moz score: 71
Total score: 137
5. Markus Eisele @myfear
Head of Developer Advocacy at Lightbend

Klout score: 69
Moz score: 66
Total score: 135
6. Arun Gupta @arungupta

Klout score: 65
Moz score: 70
Total score: 134
7. Josh Long @starbuxman
Spring Advocate @Pivotal

Klout score: 64
Moz score: 69
Total score: 133
8. James Governor @monkchips
Redmonk co-founder, Optimist and Developer Advocate.

Klout score: 68
Moz score: 64
Total score: 132
9. Vlad Mihalcea@vlad_mihalcea
CEO at Hypersistence

Klout score: 57
Moz score: 74
Total score: 130
10. Lukas Eder @lukaseder
Minister of bringing sanity back to Java

Klout score: 62
Moz score: 68
Total score: 130
11. Baruch Sadogursky @jbaruch
Developer Advocate of JFrog

Klout score: 65
Moz score: 65
Total score: 130
12. Mario Fusco @mariofusco
RedHatter, Drools Developer, Java Champion

Klout score: 63
Moz score: 67
Total score: 129
13. Marcus Biel @MarcusBiel
Software Craftsman, JCP member, CleanCode Evangelist

Klout score: 61
Moz score: 68
Total score: 128
14. Oliver Gierke @olivergierke
Spring Data Project Lead Pivotal

Klout score: 60
Moz score: 65
Total score: 126
15. Joshua Bloch @joshbloch
Effective Java author, API Designer

Klout score: 62
Moz score: 67
Total score: 128
16. Jake Wharton @JakeWharton
Android Engineer at Square Inc.

Klout score: 61
Moz score: 67
Total score: 127
17. Brian Goetz @BrianGoetz
Java Language Architect at Oracle.

Klout score: 60
Moz score: 61
Total score: 122
18. Trisha Gee @trisha_gee
Coder / Blogger / Speaker / Working for JetBrains

Klout score: 65
Moz score: 62
Total score: 126
19. Jessica Kerr @jessitron
Developer @Atomist, Panelist @greaterthancode

Klout score: 58
Moz score: 68
Total score: 125
20. Dion Almaer @dalmaer
Technologist, Product engineer, Googler

Klout score: 61
Moz score: 65
Total score: 125

METHODOLOGY

We first generated a list of twenty thousand Java-related Twitter accounts (including all accounts that contain the keyword Java in their bio or in any of their tweets.)
To score the account and rank them accordingly, we analyzed their social authority and reach using two key metrics: MozRank and Klout.

Moz Social Authority Score: Social Authority score is composed of:

    1. The retweet rate of users’ last few hundred tweets.
    2. The recency of those tweets.
    3. A retweet-based model trained on user profile data.

Visit this MOZ blog post for more in-depth information.

Klout Score: Klout uses more than 400 signals from eight different networks to update the Klout Score daily. It’s mainly based on the ratio of reactions a user generates compared to the amount of content he shares. Read more at the Klout score blog.

Legend

JAX London speaker
Rank increased compared to last year’s list.
Java Champion

Leave a Reply

Behind the Tracks

Software Architecture & Design
Software innovation & more
Microservices
Architecture structure & more
Agile & Communication
Methodologies & more
Emerging Technologies
Everything about the latest technologies
DevOps & Continuous Delivery
Delivery Pipelines, Testing & more
Cloud & Modern Infrastructure
Everything about new tools and platforms
Big Data & Machine Learning
Saving, processing & more